#3: Haiku Deck

https://haikudeck.com/p/f0f56694b9

I recently created a brief presentation using Haiku Deck, a Web 2.0 presentation tool that limits the amount of text that can be placed on a slide.  I had used Haiku Deck before, but it had been about two years since my last usage.

The free trial allows a subscriber to create three slide shows.  I decided to make a short presentation about learner-centered instructional design, given a recent experience where I was encouraged to provide feedback on an online learning course.  I focused on only one component because the presentation was meant to be short and sweet.  In all actuality, I could talk about learner-centered instructional design for probably 60 slides.  But, that would not be an effective use of the modality principle!

I decided to use only five slides, one being the title of the presentation.  I included speaker notes throughout the presentation.  The key point was the consideration of cognitive load while designing the navigation of an online course, so I introduced the key point, showed a “before” example of a course, explained cognitive load, and then showed a “redesign” with justification as the last slide.  The only thing I wish I could have been able to do on Haiku Deck is add arrows and captions as I wanted to highlight the areas on the redesign rather than use directions in the speaker notes, such as “The right hand side has a calendar…”.  If I had been able to use arrows and captions, it would have improved the continuity principle, but I accept the tool as it is.

Ultimately, I think I will stick to using Google Slides while considering the modality, continuity, and modality (among many others!) principles.  I have already gotten away from the “wall of text” presentations, so I feel comfortable that I can make my presentations learner-friendly.  Haiku Deck would be excellent for students that are first learning to give presentations with visuals, however, and I wish I had used it when I was an elementary school teacher!

Leave a Reply

