RSS Feeds

This is my first time using a RSS feed reader, and I must say, I really enjoy it.  I’m a “news junkie”, and I find myself visiting all of my favorite sites each evening.  It takes me about 1 hour to read all of the updated content.  I have now realized that many of my favorite news outlets have RSS feeds, so this is going to save me a lot of time.  On the flip side, I also noticed that my local newspaper does not have a RSS feed, but that is likely because they have turned to a subscription-based online reading model.

I was able to subscribe to some of my favorite science sites as well, including NASA.  Below, you can see a screenshot of my Digg Reader feed.  I really liked that I was able to link my twitter account, which means all of the things that I follow for my own professional development also show up on my Digg Reader under “Dig Deeper”.  I’m going to be more likely to read all of the articles now.

Snapshot of my Digg Reader account

Snapshot of my Digg Reader account

One problem I found:  Digg Reader’s settings are down, so I wasn’t able to upload the OPML file for my classmates’ learning logs.  I ended up having to manually enter each of my classmates’ names, and then subscribing.  Granted, this only took 5 minutes, but I had already read from other classmates that they were unable to do the same thing.  It appears that Digg Reader’s settings page has been down for some time.

Technology is never 100% error free.  As a future EdTech professional, I will always want to remember this little factoid.

I can definitely say that I will use digg reader every day now.  Hopefully my Surface tablet has an app for it.

Edit: 10-10-15 My surface does have an app for Digg Reader, and I was able to upload the OPML file after a few days.

8 comments

  1. Uh oh, we lost Carli for good on this assignment! A self-proclaimed news junkie that has found RSS! 🙂 It’s like we are being enablers!

    Pretty cool right!? RSS gives you a way to streamline information on the things you actually want to absorb on the ever-expanding Internet! Depending on which reader you end up going with (there are a great deal of them, so find the ones that fit you best), you can have it just display a title and short description so you can quickly go through them and find what you do want to read and skip over the ones that don’t sound to interesting at the moment.

    Like

  2. Hey Carli,
    I’ve been in Edtech now for 5 years, and I can tell you that you’ve hit upon a very wise lesson of the business: technology will eventually fail you, at some point, so have a plan B! Being versatile and prepared can really pay off when those tough times come. But sometimes, there’s nothing you can do, no matter how prepared you are. I remember about 3 years ago I was scheduled to do an iPad presentation for a summer conference. I was in room that had Apple TV, that we had tested and used successfully for about 6 months. The day of my presentation, Apple TV decided not to work, even though I had tested it that very morning. I was extremely upset, because I felt I had done everything possible to prepare. When I complained to my boss, he gave me some very sage advice that I have never forgotten. He said that the technical problem was not important. What was important was how I responded to the crisis, because that is what everyone was watching. I’ve tried to keep that wisdom in the back of my mind when the tech seems to unexpectedly let me down.

    Like

  3. As a Technology Education teacher I agree that the more we use technology there is a greater chance to have a technology failure. I experience these issues daily within my classroom whether its a computer totally freezing up and not logging back on, to wifi issues, and broken equipment. Higher technology=more complex problems

    Like

Leave a Reply

